Unjalukal

Unjalukal, they talk a lot.
Unjalukal, they talk a lot.

You talk about old days,
all the highs and the lows.
The songs and the dances.
Our games and those falls.
When we went so fast,
that you almost broke
and those times when you actually did.

I can still see,
the movies enacted.
I can still hear,
those out of tune songs.
Those chats,
those crazy ideas
and those dreams for tomorrow.

I can see the house now.
We hid beneath the stairs.
Climbed around the rooftop.
The ground and trees,
they were our friends.
Ready to play with us,
be it the scorching heat
or the pouring rains.

As you grow older, weaker
you reminds me more and more
of when we were younger.
Now you have made me sad,
for we’ll never be there again.
I am too big and you are too old.

I mourn for more than losing you,
for I lose my childhood too.
I’ll no longer do what I used to do,
they remain but a memory.
Let this be a small ode to you
and the childhood that you represent.
I mourn for those days that have been spent.

PS: Photo and caption courtesy Raghu Varma.
Take a look at his page: Ragh0 Photography – The awkward angle
PPS: ‘Unjalukal’ means swings in Malayalam.

6 thoughts on “Unjalukal

  1. “As you grow older, weaker
    you reminds me more and more
    of when we were younger.
    Now you have made me sad,
    for we’ll never be there again.
    I am too big and you are too old.”

    Really touched by these lines, Akshar. :’) Reminds me of all the good old summers we spent together.
    But donot mourn over the loss, just be glad it happened. 🙂

    1. Well, I am glad it happened but it’s not without even a tinge of sadness. It happened and it was awesome but I do feel the loss. Miss those summers.

  2. that swing has played a small part in my childhood even..:)..i remember looking forward to go there just for the swing and the kalkandu..:P..nicely expressed akshar..:)..feeling thrown bak into the past..:)

    1. 🙂 That’s what it was all about in those days. A small crystal and the promise of riding the wind was all it took. Thanks. 😀

Leave a Reply

