Summer

When I was a child I used to think that I wanted a vacation that lasted through the year. I didn’t want the vacations to ever end. All those days spent playing, never worrying about anything. I miss those summer vacations of mine.

I have now finished one year of college. So, it’s vacation time. Or rather has been for two months now. The first month was amazing, I went to Kerala and had a wonderful time(Read about that here). After that trip though things basically went downhill. I fell ill to start with. The sweltering heat of Ahmedabad isn’t easy to live with. Then there came those days of boredom. The days I dread like anything now.

A little background first. I like reading books. No. I love reading. I have many books that I want to finish this year. I have always been able to go and read a book. That has always been there for me as a way to tackle boredom. I also happen to have a huge collection of movies and TV series that I want to finish someday. I have many concepts that I need to brush up on and many others that I should familiarize myself with before the start of the next academic year. Basically I had my hands full, still do.

In spite of all this, this month I haven’t really been able to do anything the way I would have wanted to. I had a lot of things to do but I didn’t. I couldn’t read books the way I normally do. I read books but I wasn’t able to do it all day. I wasn’t able to watch movies or TV series. I was watching some stuff haphazardly, which is not at all like me. I wasn’t finding it easy to do the programming that I wanted to do. Basically I wanted to be anything but bored but nothing could interest me.

That is boredom. When you have stuff you want to do. You like doing those things and yet you just don’t want to. Or can’t. It is frustrating. You go around the house looking for something to do. You bug your parents about anything and everything and still don’t feel like doing anything. I finally managed to get some stuff to read and edit but now even that is over. You feel like lying in bed all day doing nothing. Unable to read a book, watch a movie or learn new stuff. It is one of the most frustrating things I have had to go through. Long vacations are sad. When you have been through a year in college and hostel, long vacations can get pretty depressing.

I started this blog partly because I was bored and writing seemed like a good escape. I am still so bored that I just wrote about how bored I am!

Leave a Reply

